Mark a field as missing
If a value is not available for some reason, the user can choose to define the data that is missing. You can do this by clicking on the cogwheel next to the field and selecting "User missing":
You will be prompted to choose the reason for the missing value and to add a comment. The reason you select will assign the appropriate value to the field and this is the value that will be exported in the end as data values. It is not possible to change the predefined values for missing data.
The field marked as missing will gray out, but the status icon will show the field has been completed. A comment will be added containing the reason you specified.
If you want to 'revert' the situation, you can click on the cogwheel again and select the checkbox 'user missing' again. This will revert the field to the initial state and you can enter data again, however the comment will be kept and each of these actions will be logged in the audit trail.
Mark full steps/phases as missing
Full steps and phases can also be marked as missing by selecting Mark phase / step as missing in the data entry navigator using the cogwheel right next to the phase/step:
After 'Mark step/phase as missing' is clicked, a new dialog window will open in which you can provide a reason for the missing information and include a comment:
As seen in the image above, marking a step as missing can only be 'reverted' by clicking on the cogwheel again and select the checkbox 'user missing' again for each field. The comment will be kept and each of these actions will be logged in the audit trail.